Helensburgh Heritage Trust Photo Gallery

Your online photo album


Home :: Login
Helensburgh Heritage Trust :: Album list :: Last uploads :: Last comments :: Most viewed :: Top rated :: My Favorites :: Search
Choose your language:

Home > Heritage > Welcome to the Helensburgh Heritage Trust Gallery

Most viewed - Welcome to the Helensburgh Heritage Trust Gallery
Dancing-girls-w.jpg
Dancing girls508 viewsThese four dancing girls were pictured on the Bandstand on West Clyde Street, Helensburgh, in the summer of 1927.
2000-televisor-w.jpg
506 viewsHeritage Trust chairman Stewart Noble with John Logie Baird's daughter Diana Richardson at the opening of the 'Unknown John Logie Baird Exhibition' in 2000.Photo by Kenneth Crawford.
cardross-plough-medal-w.jpg
Ploughing medal504 viewsThis Sterling Medal Victorian Watch Fob, described as a stunning example of the workmanship coming out of the United Kingdom during the mid-19th century, was sold on ebay and fetched over £700. It was presented in 1854 by the Cardross Ploughing Association, affiliated with the Highland & Agricultural Society of Scotland and founded in 1784 to promote the regeneration of rural Scotland, as well as the preservation of its poetry, language and music. It was inscribed 'Gained two successive years by John King'.
Somerville-election-flyer-w~0.jpg
Somerville election flyer504 viewsJohn Somerville issued this flyer in his campaign for re-election for ward two on Helensburgh Town Council in 1938. He was successful, and went on to serve as Provost from 1941-44, and again in 1945. Image supplied by Malcolm LeMay.
Jam_Session_by_Caroline_Sillars.jpg
503 viewsJam Session, by Caroline Sillars. Copyright the Anderson (Local Collection) Trust.
Gasometer-w.jpg
Burgh gasometer501 viewsThe gasometer, built in 1928, stood between East Clyde Street and East Princes Street opposite Helensburgh Central Station. It was decommissioned in 2012 and demolished in the summer of 2014, to be replaced by a car park. Photo by Kenneth Crawford.
Arden-Post-Office-w.jpg
Arden Post Office501 viewsThe Post Office building at Arden was demolished in the 1980s to make way for a series of road improvements, which culminated in the creation of the Arden roundabout on the A82. Image date unknown.
Hill_House_Ploughing.jpg
Burgh ploughing500 viewsThis image of ploughing the then field to the east of the Charles Rennie Mackintosh mansion Hill House in Upper Colquhoun Street, Helensburgh, was kindly supplied by Frank Donald. It was taken around 1910 by his grandfather who lived round the corner at the top of Sinclair Street.
Signal_box_Helensburgh.jpg
Signal box499 viewsThe old signal box just outside Helensburgh Central Station, with Alma Place in the background. Image date unknown.
2005-blossom-festival-w.jpg
Blossom Festival499 viewsTravel by horse and cart — lent by Glasgow City Council — in West Argyle Street during the first Helensburgh Blossom Festival, inspired by hanami cherry-blossom viewing, in 2005. The festival, organised by Anne Urquhart with the support of local organisations and the Glasgow-based Scottish-Japanese Residents Association, was held annually until 2007 with the aid of funding from Argyll and Bute Council. Photo by Stewart Noble.
Garelochhead-w~1.jpg
Historic photo499 viewsAn albumen photo of Garelochhead village, c.1890, taken by George Washington Wilson (February 7 1823-March 9 1893), a pioneering Scottish photographer. In 1849, he began a career as a portrait miniaturist, switching to portrait photography in 1852. He received a contract to photograph the Royal Family, working for Queen Victoria and Prince Albert. Later he switched to landscape photography. An albumen print was made by coating thin paper with a layer of egg-white containing salt and sensitised with a silver nitrate solution, then printed using daylight under a negative. The resulting paper had a smooth surface with a fine sheen.
Betty-Humphreys-w.jpg
Trust founder498 viewsBetty Humphrey, whose hard work and persistence led to the foundation of Helensburgh Heritage Trust in 1996, is pictured with her late husband John. She later moved to Rochford in Essex. The Trust was officially founded at a public meeting in the Court Hall of the Municipal Buildings February 29 1996. Mrs Humphrey, a teacher, campaigned for it for several years, Photo by Kenneth Crawford.
2190 files on 183 page(s) 175