Helensburgh Heritage Trust Photo Gallery

Your online photo album


Home :: Login
Helensburgh Heritage Trust :: Album list :: Last uploads :: Last comments :: Most viewed :: Top rated :: My Favorites :: Search
Choose your language:

Home > Heritage > Welcome to the Helensburgh Heritage Trust Gallery

Most viewed - Welcome to the Helensburgh Heritage Trust Gallery
Glen-at-Glen-Drive-w.jpg
His street643 viewsHelensburgh's last Provost, the late Norman M.Glen, in front of the street named after him. Photo by the late Kenneth Crawford.
1907-H-_-G-Times-w.jpg
News by postcard643 viewsThe February 13 1907 front page of the Helensburgh and Gareloch Times weekly newspaper featured on a promotional postcard.
Maggie_Hamilton_painting_by_her_husband_A_N_Paterson.jpg
643 viewsMaggie Hamilton, by her husband James Nisbet Paterson. Copyright the Anderson (Local Collection) Trust.
Seafront-boats-w.jpg
637 views
Princess-Margaret-w.jpg
Princess Margaret in Burgh636 viewsPrincess Margaret visited the town to open the former Old Parish Church on Helensburgh seafront in its new incarnation as a Church of Scotland hostel for servicemen and women on March 29 1959.
Seafront-relax-w.jpg
Relaxing on seafront627 viewsA 1912 image showing two ladies with hats relaxing on the west esplanade near the pier.
Highland_Games.jpg
Highland Games624 viewsAn antique stereo image showing dancers competing in the Highland Fling at Helensburgh Highland Games in the field in front of Ardencaple Castle, c.1890.
1972_Storm_with_Susan_Cowan.jpg
Aye of the storm622 viewsStaff member Susan Cowan (now Mrs Maxwell) agreed to pose on the seafront during a gale on December 5 1972 for a publicity stunt. The headline was "Some people will do anything for a good read of the Helensburgh Advertiser". Photo by Donald Fullarton.
Shandon-Station-w.jpg
Shandon Station619 viewsShandon Station on the West Highland Line, which was opened in 1894. Like all the other local upper stations except Rhu, it was designed to look like a Swiss chalet. Image date unknown.
Original-Rosneath-Castle-w.jpg
Pre-1802 Rosneath Castle617 viewsAn illustration by Alex McGibbon of the original castle, which comes from W.C.Maughan’s ‘Rosneath Past and Present’, written in 1893. It was burnt down in 1802, and replaced in 1806 by London architect Joseph Bonomi with a neo-classical mansion.
Portincaple-house-.jpg
Mystery House614 viewsA July 1905 image which shows Mrs Smith and her dog Top outside their house, possibly at Portincaple. More information welcome.
Helensburgh_pier_c_1940.jpg
Pier walkers614 viewsA 1940s image of Helensburgh pier and the outdoor swimming pool.
2190 files on 183 page(s) 169