Helensburgh Heritage Trust Photo Gallery

Your online photo album


Home :: Login
Helensburgh Heritage Trust :: Album list :: Last uploads :: Last comments :: Most viewed :: Top rated :: My Favorites :: Search
Choose your language:

Home > Heritage > Welcome to the Helensburgh Heritage Trust Gallery

Most viewed - Welcome to the Helensburgh Heritage Trust Gallery
Henry-Bell-Ex-2-06_08_12.jpg
Comet exhibition817 viewsSome of the panels in the Henry Bell and the Comet exhibition, compiled by Doris Gentles, in Helensburgh Library, West King Street, throughout August, September and October 2012. Photo by Donald Fullarton.
Henry_Bell.jpg
Henry Bell816 viewsA portrait of steamship pioneer Henry Bell by James Tannock. It is the property of the Scottish National Portrait Gallery, 1 Queen Street, Edinburgh.
Henry-Bell-account-book-w.jpg
Account book816 viewsA page from Henry Bell's Account Book which covers most of 1820 from the fit out at the beginning of the season to the attempts to recover the engine from the wreck in December. The page is from October and shows the details of fares collected from passengers and where they were going to/coming from. Image courtesy Culture and Sport Glasgow (Museums).
Little-and-Large.jpg
Little and large814 viewsHMS Pursuer, a patrol boat from the Clyde Naval Base at Faslane, led the nautical procession from Rhu Marina to Helensburgh pier for the bicentenary celebrations on Saturday August 4 2012. Photo by Kenneth Speirs.
Comet-on-Waverley-KC.jpg
Model on Waverley813 viewsThis model of Henry Bell's Comet was on display beside the funnel on board the paddle steamer Waverley for the Waverley Comet bicentenary cruise on Friday August 10 2012. Its paddle wheels were turning and pistons going up and down. Photo by Kenneth Crawford.
2_the_Triangle.jpg
Burgh prefab813 viewsThe town had a number of prefab homes for several decades, and this one is 2 The Triangle, just behind the Victoria Infirmary and where Johnston Court is now. Image, date unknown, supplied by Helensburgh Memories member Paul Oakes.
Comet-model-7.jpg
Replica afloat812 viewsThis working model of Henry Bell's Comet steamship was built and sailed by members of Helensburgh and District Modellers Club, who in August 2012, after the bicentenary celebrations, donated it to Helensburgh Heritage Trust for display in the Heritage Centre in Helensburgh Library in West King Street.
Sail-Salute-NM.jpg
Sailpast812 viewsLocal yachts took part in the bicentenary celebrations off Helensburgh pier on Saturday August 4 2012. Photo by Neil MacLeod.
Rovers-building-cabin-w.jpg
Scouts at work812 viewsMembers of the local scouting Rovers building a cabin in the woods at Luss in the early 1950s. More information would be welcomed. Image supplied by Gordon Fraser.
Robert_Bain_memorial.jpg
Robert Bain memorial811 viewsThe large iron memorial in Rhu Churchyard erected by Comet steamship pioneer Henry Bell to Robert Bain, the skipper most famously associated with the Comet, following his death in 1829 at the age of 39. He spent 16 years of his life working for Bell, Helensburgh's first Provost, and also served as deputy town clerk. He took over command of the Comet in 1812. The tombstone was made at Shotts Iron Works. Image taken and supplied by Ann Stewart.
Deborah-Kerr_David-Bruce-1990-w.jpg
Deborah Kerr at 70811 viewsHelensburgh film star Deborah Kerr, who was one of the judges, is seen at the 1990 European Film Awards at in the entrance to Glasgow Royal Concert Hall with Helensburgh man David Bruce, who was Director of the Scottish Film Council and was mainly responsible for bringing the event to Glasgow. It was also attended by a number of international film stars, including Jeanne Moreau, Max von Sydow, Nastassia Kinski, Kenneth Branagh and Richard Attenborough. Film makers present included David Putnam and the great Ingmar Bergman and Andzej Wajda. Image by courtesy of David Bruce.
Comet-model-DS.jpg
Replica afloat810 viewsThis working model of Henry Bell's Comet steamship was built and sailed by members of Helensburgh and District Modellers Club, who in August 2012, after the bicentenary celebrations, donated it to Helensburgh Heritage Trust for display in the Heritage Centre in Helensburgh Library in West King Street.
2190 files on 183 page(s) 162