Helensburgh Heritage Trust Photo Gallery

Your online photo album


Home :: Login
Helensburgh Heritage Trust :: Album list :: Last uploads :: Last comments :: Most viewed :: Top rated :: My Favorites :: Search
Choose your language:

Home > Heritage > Welcome to the Helensburgh Heritage Trust Gallery

Most viewed - Welcome to the Helensburgh Heritage Trust Gallery
Deborah-Kerr277-w.jpg
Deborah Kerr in gown959 viewsHelensburgh screen and stage star Deborah Kerr pictured in a beautiful gown. The circumstances are not known, so any information would be welcomed by the editor of the Helensburgh Heritage Trust website. Image circa 1950.
Rhu_Church2792.jpg
Row (Rhu) Parish Church958 viewsRow (Rhu) Parish and War Memorial. From a postcard published by Winton, Stationer, Post Office, Row. Image date unknown.
Kilcreggan-from-pier3.jpg
Kilcreggan from the pier958 viewsThe houses on Kilcreggan seafront, seen from the pier, circa 1908.
Rhu-Spit016.jpg
Rhu Spit958 viewsA view of the Gareloch from above Rhu. Image date unknown, circa early 1900s.
Deborah-Kerr-autograph148.jpg
Deborah Kerr958 viewsA 1963 autographed photo of Deborah Kerr, unusual in that is signed only 'Deborah'.
Ardenconnel_House_group.jpg
Methodist holiday958 viewsA group of Methodists of all ages on holiday at Ardenconnel House in Rhu in the mid-1930s. The B-listed mansion was built by the Buchanan family in the late 18th century, and Ardenconnel was one of the principal estates of the old parish of Row. It was bought in 1899 by the Countrywide Holidays Association, and by 1908 could accommodate 120 guests. The CHA is the oldest walking holiday company in the country, set up in 1893 to encourage participation in, and enjoyment of, the countryside, and to this day, while no longer operating walking holidays, is still working hard to fulfil the vision of founder the Rev T.A.Leonard. The mansion was later converted into modern flats. Image by Jean M.Watson.
Fruin-Water071-w.jpg
Fruin Water957 viewsAn old image of the Fruin Water. Image date and exact location not known.
Kilcreggan_from_air.jpg
Kilcreggan from the air957 viewsA 1962 image of Kilcreggan from the air.
Cove_from_North_Ailey3241.jpg
Cove956 viewsA view of Cove from North Ailey, circa 1904.
Rev_John_Baird_original_refurb.jpg
The Rev John Baird956 viewsAn image of the Rev John Baird (1842-1932), father of TV inventor John Logie Baird. He was the first minister of what was originally known as the West Parish Church at the corner of John Street and West King Street. It was opened on March 10 1878 and later became St Bride's Church, which was closed as a place of worship in 1981 and demolished in 1990. This image is a retouched version of a badly stained charcoal etching which is in the Argyll and Bute Council Libraries collection. His grandson, Heritage Trust president Professor Malcolm Baird, dates it at c.1880, and would like to find out who was the artist.
CMJ-Staff-w.jpg
Editorial conference956 viewsHelensburgh Advertiser editor Donald Fullarton, sports editor Tony McGinley (who used the pen name Gare Clyde), and Advertiser founder and proprietor Craig M.Jeffrey beside the 'stone' where the hot metal pages were prepared at the East King Street printworks. Image c.1970.
East-Bay-_-3-girls.jpg
The East Bay955 viewsAn old view of the East Bay looking towards the town centre. Image date unknown.
2190 files on 183 page(s) 136