Helensburgh Heritage Trust Photo Gallery

Your online photo album


Home :: Login
Helensburgh Heritage Trust :: Album list :: Last uploads :: Last comments :: Most viewed :: Top rated :: My Favorites :: Search
Choose your language:

Home > Heritage > Welcome to the Helensburgh Heritage Trust Gallery > Places Burgh

Most viewed - Places Burgh
View-from-pier043.jpg
View from the pier1157 viewsLooking at the seafront on the east side of Helensburgh pier, circa 1910.
Family_on_West_Bay.jpg
Family on West Bay1156 viewsAdults and children are seen in this early 1900s image of Helensburgh's West Esplanade, looking east towards the Old Parish Church from John Street. Image date unknown.
Putting-green067-w.jpg
Putting Green1156 viewsThe Helensburgh seafront putting green is a busy place on this sunny afternoon. Image circa 1965.
Pier_crossing.jpg
Seafront crossing1155 viewsThe junction of West Clyde Street and Colquhoun Street, Helensburgh, as it used to be, with a cobbled walkway across the road to the pier. On the corner, where there is now a three-storey shop and office block, is Robert Brown's 'Cyclist's Rest Pierhead Vaults' public house. Image circa 1907.
Hermit_s-Well138.jpg
The Hermit's Well1151 viewsGardeners are at work and a family are having a picnic in this picture of the Hermit's Well in Hermitage Park. Image circa 1920, nine years after the park was created after the Town Council purchased the grounds from the Cramb family for £3,750. Legend has it that a hermit once lived in the park, and the Hermit's Well, with its copper ladle, granted a wish to those who drank from it. It is there to this day, but is not maintained in a good condition.
Pier_foursome.jpg
Pier stroll1149 viewsStrolling back up Helensburgh pier, circa 1960, are Stewart Noble (now chairman of Helensburgh Heritage Trust), Lesley Marshall (now Mrs Lesley Kennedy), Jennifer Taylor (now living in Canada), and a visitor from France.
Kidston-Park042.jpg
Kidston Park1147 viewsA family relax at Kidston Park, circa 1910. Bought from the Duke of Argyll in 1877 for £650 by William Kidston with help from Sir James Colquhoun and others, the area was formerly Cairndhu Point — known locally as Neddy's Point after a well known fisherman and ferryman who lived nearby — but was renamed Kidston Park from 1889 when Mr Kidston left money to support its maintenance and requested the name change.
Sinclair-Street137.jpg
Sinclair Street looking south1147 viewsLooking down Sinclair Street with the Victoria Hall on the left and St Columba Church further down on the right. Image circa 1905.
Outdoor_pool.jpg
Helensburgh Swimming Pool1144 viewsA 1959 image showing the entrance and the north west corner of the outdoor pool, built in 1928 as a gift from Provost Andrew Buchanan, beside Helensburgh Pier. It was replaced in 1976 by an indoor pool on an adjacent site, and a year later the outdoor pool was closed. It was demolished in 1996 and replaced by a childrens play area. Behind it is an archway which led to the pier, but was demolished some years ago.
Promenade.jpg
Family outing1143 viewsA family take a seat on the West Bay promenade while another group play on the beach, circa 1907.
Hermitage_Park_bridges.jpg
Park bridge1142 viewsA rustic bridge in Helensburgh's Hermitage Park. Image circa 1915.
Helensburgh_pier304.jpg
Helensburgh Pier1137 viewsLooking across the Helensburgh pierhead towards the West Bay. Image circa 1904.
325 files on 28 page(s) 16