Helensburgh Heritage Trust Photo Gallery

Your online photo album


Home :: Login
Helensburgh Heritage Trust :: Album list :: Last uploads :: Last comments :: Most viewed :: Top rated :: My Favorites :: Search
Choose your language:

Home > Heritage > Welcome to the Helensburgh Heritage Trust Gallery > Places Burgh

Most viewed - Places Burgh
Helensburgh-old-pier-1848.jpg
Helensburgh Old Pier1256 viewsAn 1848 image of the original Helensburgh pier which was approximately at the east end of the East Bay, not far from Henry Bell's Baths (later Queen's) Hotel.
Marine-View5141.jpg
Marine View1253 viewsAn old image of the Marine View building at the corner of East Clyde Street and Glenfinlas Street, with the East Bay grass in front. Image date unknown.
Clyde_Street_horses.jpg
Seafront carriages1243 viewsChildren play around the William Street shelter on West Clyde Street, Helensburgh, as two horse-drawn carriages approach. Image circa 1909.
East_Clyde_Street_111.jpg
East Helensburgh1236 viewsA view of East Clyde Street from Henry Bell Street looking west. Image circa 1908.
Helensburgh_from_above.jpg
Helensburgh from above1235 viewsLooking down over the town and to the Clyde beyond from Helensburgh golf course. Image date unknown.
Park-waterfall3764.jpg
Hermitage Park waterfall1234 viewsAn attractive view of the waterfall in Hermitage Park, circa 1954.
Bandstand,_Empress125.jpg
Kidston Park1234 viewsA 1905 image of Kidston Park and its bandstand, with the Training Ship Empress moored in the Gareloch beyond.
War-memorial4471.jpg
Hermitage Park War Memorial1233 viewsThe War Memorial in Hermitage Park, circa 1930. In those days the pond was full, but nowadays it is empty for safety reasons. Designed by well known local architect Alexander Nisbet Paterson after a campaign by his father-in-law, artist J.Whitelaw Hamilton, one of the 'Glasgow Boys', the War Memorial was completed in 1923. A service is held in the Garden of Remembrance on the Sunday nearest to November 11.
Victoria-Hall-rear-w.jpg
Victoria Hall rear1232 viewsAn unusual view of the Victoria Hall taken from the rear in Hermitage Park. At the back of the hall are workshops, while to the right is part of the remains of the Malig Mill which was demolished in 1922. Image is circa 1926 and is reproduced here by courtesy of the Argyll and Bute Council Libraries Collection.
Conservative_club-3.jpg
Conservative Club1226 viewsThe upstairs premises at 40 Sinclair Street, Helensburgh, housed the Conservative and Unionist Club Rooms. The attractive building was designed in 1894 by Honeyman and Keppie, and it is thought Charles Rennie Mackintosh, then a young architect employed by the firm, contributed to the design which has many Glasgow-style features. A statue of St Andrew, the crest of the club, occupies a niche in a central position on the facade. Now the building is owned by the clothing firm Mackays. Image by Stewart Noble.
View-from-burgh-pier.jpg
View from pier1224 viewsLooking ashore from Helensburgh pier, with passengers boarding a boat at the pier steps. Image date unknown.
Colquhoun_Square091.jpg
Colquhoun Square1215 viewsA green Garelochhead Coach Services bus is at the bus stop on a sunny morning in Helensburgh's Colquhoun Square. Image circa 1970.
325 files on 28 page(s) 13